Practicing empathy while making money

I often think about this, specially while operating in a very competitive business environment. It seems that to some degree, while machines have facilitated some tasks, the actual services being provided by industries appears to be more transparent, but in a heartless kind of way. I recently had a service provider send me an invoice before the actual work was even completed, or I was informed that the service for which I was being billed was completed. It is interesting that with industrialization has come the manufacturing of a cold heart. Put in your credit card, write out the check, and that is the most important part. I want to continue to strive to provide the human aspect to the real estate transaction – the qualitative nature of a heart – I want to look back on my life and be glad that I was not just a cog in a wheel, but someone who was paid not only for the quantitative aspect of the transaction, but also for having a heart, and yes, even in a capitalist society – you mean something to me, not just a check.

Leave a Reply

